CEMAC : Double taxation


The Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa (CEMAC) comprises six states: Cameroon, Central African Republic, Congo, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea and Chad.
Heir to the Customs and Economic Union of Central Africa (UDEAC), it was created on June 25, 1999. With a Common External Tariff, CEMAC is a customs union. As a result, any goods imported from a third country and cleared through customs at any point of entry into the community customs territory, which is made up of all the customs territories of the six member states, should circulate freely within the community space, i.e., without payment of customs duties other than those levied on entry into the community customs territory.
The practice of double taxation is widespread, but its extent and impact on the cost chain, competition and trade flows have not yet been identified. Moreover, it does not comply with Community legislation and generates additional controls and costs for economic operators, which ultimately affect the fluidity of trade and the effectiveness of the Customs Union.
Overall objective: To build a true customs union in the CEMAC zone by improving the free movement of goods and developing intra-community trade.
Specific objective: Determination of a compensation mechanism for customs revenue losses linked to the abolition of double taxation and thus allowing a return to the free practice regime in the CEMAC zone.



Beginning - END


Field of Expertise

Trade Policy


156 495,00€





Scroll to Top